District Winners Announced at 6th Annual ABC Awards

For immediate release: January 27, 2016

BREVARD COUNTY, FLA. – The ABC (Applauding Brevard’s Champions) Awards Gala, presented by Community Credit Union and hosted by Brevard Schools Foundation was held on January 25, 2017 at the King Center for Performing Arts in Melbourne. During the gala celebration, Brevard Public Schools recognized and revealed the winners of various categories including: Administrators of the Year, Volunteers of the Year, Foundation Awards of Distinction, Employee of the Year (EOY), and the Teacher of the Year (TOY).

“Brevard Schools Foundation is pleased to assist in organizing and hosting the ABC Awards for deserving teachers, support personnel, administrators, volunteers and supporters whose hard work and dedication is evident in the exceptional results achieved in Brevard Public Schools every day,” said Janice Kershaw, executive director of the Brevard Schools Foundation.

Jane Araguez, kindergarten teacher from Saturn Elementary, won this year’s noteworthy title of BPS’ Teacher of the Year (TOY). Araguez is extremely involved at school and serves as a member of the math leadership team, Lego League, school coordinator of Walmart Math Night, Math Contact, and Spanish translator, among many other roles. When confronted with needs for her students, this teacher finds a way to fill that need, even using Crowdsource funding to purchase flexible seating for the classroom when she noticed students fidgeting in their chairs.

Jamie Skinner, cafeteria manager from Ralph Williams Elementary, was named BPS’ Employee of the Year (EOY). Skinner started a culinary club for students that’s supported by the school’s partners in education and she hopes it will become a pilot program for other schools. She goes above and beyond by making customized meals for students who struggle with healthy choices for lunch. In addition to her personal standard of bringing her “A game” each day, her dedication and heart for service extends beyond the school walls like when she baked over 500 cookies and made dozens of gallons of coffee during hurricane Matthew to keep the special needs guests comforted during their stay at her school’s shelter.

“The Brevard Schools Foundation organizes this remarkable event annually to recognize school champions and community advocates who serve our babies,” said Superintendent Desmond Blackburn. “On behalf of BPS, I want to express appreciation to the staff, teachers, administrators and organizations recognized during the program for going above and beyond to provide extraordinary service … thank you for all that you do!”

Other winners honored during the evening included:

Administrators of the Year

The Principal’s Achievement Award for Outstanding Leadership and the Outstanding Assistant Principal Award recognizes exemplary principals and assistant principals for their contributions to their schools and communities.

Brevard’s representatives are:

Meara Trine, Andrew Jackson Middle School, 2016 Assistant Principal of the Year

Rachad Wilson, Endeavour Elementary, 2016 Principal of the Year

Volunteers of the Year

The Outstanding School Volunteer Award recognizes school volunteers who have shown outstanding dedication and commitment to their school through volunteer service. This award has three categories –youth, adult, and senior.

Brevard’s winners are:

•Todd Eagle Volunteer of the Year – youth, nominated by Heritage High

Susan Enlow, Volunteer of the Year – adult, nominated by Cambridge Elementary

Paul Mozak, Volunteer of the Year – senior, nominated by Brevard Adult Education – Titusville

Brevard Schools Foundation Awards of Distinction

Take Stock in Children Gala Committee, Group Champion

Northrop Grumman, Corporate Champion

Robert Dougherty, Individual Champion

The Curtis L. Carlson Family Foundation, Family Champion

Andretti Thrill Park, Local Business Champion

The Rotary Club of Suntree, Take Stock in Children Champion


In addition to Community Credit Union, this event could not have been possible without the support of the generous sponsors, which included:


Red Carpet Presenting Sponsors

Charter Spectrum, presenting the Teacher of the Year award Harris Corporation, presenting the Employee of the Year award


1987 Society Chairman’s Reception Sponsor

Wuesthoff Health Systems


Spotlight Plus Sponsors

Kennedy Space Center

Publix Charities

Performance Matters

Wells Fargo


Spotlight Sponsors

Florida Power and Light

Hamilton Roofing, Inc.

Northrop Grumman



Southeast Petro

TerraCom Direct

Wells Fargo Advisors, Ray Pfleuger and Don Adams

Wharton-Smith, Inc.


Media Sponsors

Clear Channel Outdoor


News 13


For more information regarding the ABC awards, please contact Kershaw at 321-633-1000, ext. 756 or kershaw.janice@brevardschools.org.